Wanted: More Social games for change!

This video came into my stream via the Saatchi – Saatchi today! Love it! Thanks Michelle. So fitting that your interview came via the Saatchi Empire as we a have a long history together with respect to “ideas that change the world” – one that dates back to 1998 when I saw an ad in WIRED for a competition that invited Creatives to submit their ideas for the Award for Innovations in Communications. I did and I was short listed….the rest is history…

For this reason I find this interview on Social Games fascinating! So glad to see this form of gaming is finally starting to gain world wide attention! A different kind of game – for sure. Over a decade ago I was waiting around for “girl’s games” to happen and they never really did, while doing so I played Rich Dad’s Cash Flow Game and was intrigued by Farmville – but it was not till I found EMPIRE AVE with its social aspect that I found a game I really love! While your level of participation on Empire Ave directly affects a change in your stock price – for better or worse – and can also effect your influence in a vertical – (on an Index) it does not focus on social change per say.

The idea of playing games to create real change is very appealing and a path that I that I cannot wait to take my social media clients down… With a background in animation and new media, my ability to create characters, personas and tell stories will be a great asset in providing insight. Combine this with my skills in social media engagement and now we are talking Back to the Future.

If I had the power to wish myself to be anywhere right now it would be at this event in NYC. Maybe next year… In the meantime I better dust off my old sketchbooks and revisit my drawings for games designs…

Today was the first day of the Games for Change Festival in NYC! Al Gore spoke and said : “games have clearly arrived as a mass medium.”

“Games for Change is the leading global advocate for supporting and making games for social impact”. Often referred to as “the Sundance of Video Games”, the Games for Change Annual Festival is the largest gaming event in New York City and the only international event uniting “games for change” creators, the public, civil society, academia, the gaming industry and media.”

To all the organizers and participants keep up the high levels of engagement for change!

Leave a Reply

